“That little tune in your head”

After working for two years at the same restaurant, I have noticed many things: many of the same guests eat there on a regular basis, people seem to eat the same sorts of food all of the time, and most importantly, we play the same 50 or so songs every single day.  Not that they are bad songs, or it’s a bad thing, but I think I have heard Gnarls Barkley’s Crazy or Frank Sinatra’s Come Fly With Me maybe a few hundred times at work each.  However, I had heard a song similarly that I did not know the name of, but could sing it back fluently, remembering the words each time.

Take me on a trip, I’d like to go some day.
Take me to New York, I’d love to see LA.
I really want to come kick it with you.
You’ll be my American Boy.

But then a few days ago, I heard it at Desert Ridge Marketplace, and saw that it was by Estelle.  When I got home that evening, I bought it, and now every time I listen to it, I picture myself at work, hearing the lyrics to this song.  It is amazing how our memory is tied to experiences and how this song brings me back to just starting at my job two years ago.  Oh well, I decided I should share the song with you below.  Enjoy the song (hopefully embedded below this paragraph).

 

BD

"American Boy"

Leave a Reply

