“The enemy of my enemy is my friend”

As the NBA Finals roll along, people keep asking if I am for the Miami Heat or for the Dallas Mavericks.  As a die-hard Suns fan, it’s hard to root for any team that LeBron James, Dwayne Wade, and Chris Bosh are on, but it would be far harder to root for Dallas.  For the entire Steve Nash era, the Dallas Mavs (as well as LA and San Antonio) have caused us Suns fans some of the most sad times and grief as a fan base.

So, as this series began, I decided I would root for the Miami Heat, following the thought that the enemy of my enemy is my friend.  For the past two seasons, we saw Kobe and his Laker teammates gloat and revel in victory; it is time that a champion emerges, who will not compete with my Suns next year.  It makes my heart feel so warm to see Dirk miss game winners, like he did at the end of game 3, and it is my hope that LeBron and the Heat can take this series in 5, in order to rub it in on Dallas’ home court.

Yeah, you might say I am vindictive, but far less vindictive than the crazy and convoluted Cavs fans in Cleveland.  They are making “Cavs for Mavs” memorabilia, as a way of rooting against their former beloved star.  Well, I’m sorry for your loss Cleveland, but we all know the NBA cheated for you in the Lotto, so you get 2 of the top 5 picks.  Choose wisely my friends.

Lastly, it is important to note that I am rooting for Miami for two more reasons: 1) Mike Miller, a really good guy, has a daughter with heart problems and he has dedicated his time in order to help her, over the team. He is a class act, just as Derek Fisher was in Utah with his daughter and her cancer problems a few years back. and 2) Eric Spoelstra has gotten so much crap as the coach of this team. I want him to win this ring, so that Pat Reiley doesn’t try to take the job next year, a move which would totally lose my vote for them in any series.

So just remember amigos, Miami is my pick, I got a cool looking hat today, and Macayos was fairly decent.

 

BD

Leave a Reply

